Schoharie County

This map of Schoharie County is a portion of a map of New York made by Simeon Dewitt in 1802.

It is on file in the Document Room of the New York State Library in Albany.

The County of Schoharie was formed from Albany and Otsego on April 6, 1795. A small part of Greene was annexed in 1836.

The six original towns are shown on De Witt's map as follows: Schoharie, Middletown, Bristol, Blenheim, Cobleskill and Sharon. In 1801 Middletown was changed to Middleburgh and in 1808, Bristol was changed to Broome in honor of Lieut. Governor Broome. By an act of Legislature passed on April 3, 1801, the boundaries of Schoharie County were established.

At present there are sixteen Towns in the County, the names of which with the dates of their foundation, together with the Towns from which each was taken are all listed in A BRIEF HISTORY OF SCHOHARIE COUNTY (by the Hon. Henry Smith)...1876.

Table of Contents, Schaffer

Copyright 2000. Herman W. Witthoft, Sr. and Berry Enterprises. All rights reserved. All items on the site are copyrighted. While we welcome you to use the information provided on this web site; this information is copyrighted and not to be reproduced for distribution, sale, or profit.

You are visitor:
Contents Introduction Links Home